2013-2014 Italy Athletic Banquet honors its student-athletes in grand fashion

Image: Student-athletes, coaches, fans and family members filled the dome for the 2013-2014 Italy Athletic Banquet for the end of the year award presentations.

Student-athletes, coaches, fans and family members filled the dome for the 2013-2014 Italy Athletic Banquet for the end of the year award presentations. (Barry Byers)

With Italy ISD AD/HFC Charles Tindol overseeing the event, there were plenty of special moments during the 2013-2014 Italy Athletic Banquet. The biggest moments were senior TaMarcus Sheppard being named Gladiator of the Year and Kendra Copeland being named Lady Gladiator of the Year. Zain Byers was awarded the David Henderson Scholarship and received a plaque from nephew David Henderson, Baseball Head Coach Jon Cady presented his players with gag gifts that fit each players personality and the late Ann Byers, aka Gladiator Grandma, was named Gladiator Fan of the Year. Ann’s sons Brentley Byers and Barry Byers were presented official Gladiator Fan of the Year T-shirts to wear on her behalf.

Italy Neotribune Editor Kelly Lewis and reporter Barry Byers were recognized by the athletic department for their efforts throughout the school year and Barry was also presented a batting helmet complete with mask to protect his good eye next season.

Each Sport presented top player awards and all student-athletes from grades 9th – 12th were recognized for their participation and achievements. The top awards are listed below:

Athletic Academic Award (Highest GPA):

  • Girls — Taylor Turner
  • Boys — Zain Byers

Keith Davis Most Outstanding Male Athlete:

  • TaMarcus Sheppard

Keith Davis Most Outstanding Female Athlete:

  • Kendra Copeland

Lady Gladiator Of The Year:

  • Kendra Copeland

Gladiator Of The Year:

  • TaMarcus Sheppard

David Henderson Scholarship Award:

  • Zain Byers


  • Offensive MVP — Bailey Eubank
  • Defensive MVP — Kortnei Johnson
  • Team MVP — Madison Washington
  • Fighting Heart Award — Taylor Turner


  • Offensive MVP — Trevon Robertson
  • Defensive MVP — Zain Byers
  • *Fighting Heart Award — Shad Newman
  • Jimmy Davis Team MVP Award — TaMarcus Sheppard

Boys Basketball:

  • Offensive MVP — TaMarcus Sheppard
  • Defensive MVP — Tyler Anderson
  • Fighting Heart Award — Cody Boyd
  • R. Lewis Team MVP Award — Trevon Robertson

Girls Basketball:

  • Offensive MVP — Shercorya Chance
  • Defensive MVP — Tara Wallis
  • Fighting Heart Award — Ryisha Copeland
  • Team MVP — Kendra Copeland and Kortnei Johnson

Cross Country:

  • Boys MVP — Mason Womack

Boys MVP — Dylan McCasland
Girls MVP — Tara Wallis


  • Boys MVP — Zain Byers


  • Offensive MVP — Madison Washington and Bailey Eubank
  • Defensive MVP — Tara Wallis
  • FIghting Heart Award — Britney Chambers
  • Nancy Ferguson Team MVP Award — Jaclynn Lewis


  • Offensive MVP — Cody Boyd
  • Defensive MVP — Ty Windham
  • Fighting Heart Award — Tyler Anderson
  • Loyd Davidson Team MVP Award — Levi McBride


  • Boys MVP — TaMarcus Sheppard
  • Girls MVP — Kortnei Johnson
  • Most Improved (Girl) — Janae Robertson
  • Most Improved (Boy) — Eric Carson

Special thanks to Jane Medrano, Flossie Gowin, Robbie Jones, Lisa Jacinto, Heidi Crawford, Karen Mathiowetz, Birdie Bell and Kelly Lewis.

And the Tradition continues…

[[ Click here for additional images ]]