New Trustees Inducted to the Italy Independent School District

Image: Larry Creighton and Tessa South are excited about the upcoming school year.

Larry Creighton and Tessa South are excited about the upcoming school year. (Anne Sutherland)

On May 19, 2014, a regular meeting or the Board of Trustee of Italy Independent School District convened in the high school cafeteria. After the call to order, one of the business items was to induct the newly elected trustees, Tessa South and Larry Creighton. Also, on the agenda was to say goodbye to Paul Cockerham and Mark Stiles. Each worked hard for the school. Stiles gave 3 years of service and Cockerham was on the board for 6 years.

Senior Joseph Sage, along with others in the art department, represented IHS at art shows. Sage has been accepted to the Dallas Art Institute and became a member of the National Art Honor Society when he was a junior. Joseph dedicated his mosaic artwork to Italy High School and presented it to the board. Mrs. Seitletz said, “It’s a joy to work with these students and Joseph is a wonderful student.”

Mayor James Hobbs was present at the meeting and congratulated Joseph for all of his accomplishments. Hobbs congratulated all of the art students who worked hard all year long, as well as the other students who received awards. The Mayor explained Steven Farmer and Paul Cockerham were two of the newest member of the City Council and they all were having to leave to go to the next meeting. The Mayor was going to work on the conflict of meeting times of the Council and School Board meetings.

Reports were given by Stafford Elementary’s new principal, Pamela Thomas and Principal Lee Joffre from the high school, Michael Chambers, Natasha Blackburn and the superintendent. Kelly Lewis, Athletic Booster Club President, also addressed the council. After all the reports, the council excused themselves for executive session.

Returning from the closed meeting, the council accepted two resignations from staff and voted to hire a new coach that will teach Social Studies. The board voted to hire John Proud from Seminole.

The council adjourned the meeting.

The board members in attendance were Tessa South, Sal Ramirez, Cheryl Owen ,Larry Eubank, Larry Creightion, Ida Overton, Russ Lewis.