Ellis County Expo Claims Italy Winners

Image: Jaclynn Lewis gives a smile — Jac and her lamb are in the chute ready for the sale.

Jaclynn Lewis gives a smile — Jac and her lamb are in the chute ready for the sale. (Anne Sutherland)

The smell of hay, mud and water filled the Expo building off of Hwy 287 this weekend. For some it became the smell of success. Italy FFA and Ellis County 4H students of all ages (9-19 years old) were taking care of business.

Rabbits, chickens, hogs, lambs, steers and goats were being washed, scrubbed and groomed to show the judge at the 20th Annual Ellis County Expo. Some of the youth entered Showmanship competition as well. This show consisted of market, breeding, agricultural mechanics and food & fiber divisions, which includes photography, wood working, drawing, sewing and cooking.

After the judging all week long, the top animals were allowed in the final sale. Buyers from all around the county came to bid and purchase these animals and help the students earn a little profit, going full circle in the business of agriculture.

If you think about all of this, the youth of today are being taught a rich lesson. Generations before have handed down these traditions. It is good to know that the agriculture business is alive and well today. Our future farmers have been given a legacy-a foundation and a responsibility. The end result is an agriculture institution this land has been built on and on that we can rely.

Italy students include the following:

Reserve Champion Steer Dan Crownover Ellis County 4H
Best Of Show Senior Food Division Lexi Miller (Italian Cream Cake)

The following students made the sale catalog:


Austin Pittmon
Aaron Pittmon
Hannah Washington
Alex DeMoss
Ty Windham
Haley Pittmon
Adrian Acevedo
Anna Viers
Bailey Walton
Yonatan Davilla


Bailey Eubank
Robert Sparks
Matthew Brummett
Kyle Wilkins
Kaitlyn Rossa
Clayton Campbell
Drew Windham


Jaclynn Lewis
Katie Byers

Congratulations to all of these students and all participants because of hard work and effort. Also, honors went to Larry Eubanks for volunteering and chairing this show 2006-2008. Present chairperson is Deryl Shelnutt, 2009-2011. Special thanks goes to Russ & Kelly Lewis and Becky Morgan for their help with the Senior & Junior Showmanship for the Sheep Division.